RSS Feed

How I had to remortgage my house for Harry Potter

Posted on

 

A friend of mine is fortunate enough to be going to Florida during the half term purely for a shopping excursion for me for Christmas gifts.  (Ok So I made that bit up – she is going, but not just for my benefit).  I was going to send her with a shopping list though. 

I figured I’d do a bit of research and check out the online store at Orlando Universal Studios to see what treats I could have her bring back for the childerbeast from the “Wizarding World of Harry Potter“. 

(FYI Hollywood and JK Rowling – Harry Potter is English so I think it rather unfair that the majority of Harry Potter merchandise is not available in this country).  Note that that it used to be… until the “Wizarding World of Harry Potter”**said in faux Yank accent** opened it’s doors.   Way to sell out there JK.  Cheers for that love.   Couldn’t have built a theme park over here then?

I don’t want my pal to go insane  in the gift store: just some Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans maybe or, as I thought when I saw them online, maybe some chocolate frogs…

It’s chocolate – not gold dust
 
I decided against this when I saw that it was $49.99 for a pack of 4!
 
Fifty bucks for 4 chocolate frogs?  Are you shitting me?  How big are they FFS?  Can I sit on them and ride round the room?  No apparently I can’t.  They aren’t even that big or even that magical.  Not magical at all in fact.
 
I also thought my youngest, magic obsessed, childerbeast might like one of these badboys:- 
                                        A replica Firebolt broom.
 

Then I saw the price tag………..

 

$300.

THREE HUNDRED DOLLARS FOR A TOY?  Do I have ‘SUCKER‘ tattooed across my forehead?     The fucker doesn’t even fly!

Think we’ll just stick to the old bookmark and pencil, like we do at every other day and school trip they ever go on.

 

 

 

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

2 responses »

  1. Harry Potter SUCKS!
    He’s the most useless & stupid (shit) character created.
    Harry Potter is scum, arrogant moron & gangster asshole.(His brainless fans, actors & actresses, J.K. Rowling, etc are weak-minded, sore losers with low IQ)
    All of his books, movies, etc are all shit, all dump, garbage, rubbish & suck-ass.
    He must be removed from this face of this planet.
    Harry Potter & Daniel Radcliffe (& their fans, forever) SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS & SUCKS!

    Reply
    • Whilst I wouldn’t usually approve such a negative comment as the above, the Jack Torrance style repetition of the word SUCK amused me.

      I have to say though that the intimation that my 6 year old daughter is a “brainless weak minded sore-loser (?) (how exactly?) with a low IQ” does rankle me somewhat and cause me some distress.

      While I do believe in freedom of speech etc may I suggest that if you hold such a strong opinion on the subject and feel important enough to cast aspersions about the intelligence of someone elses child that you don’t leave a comment on their blog and call yourself ‘anonymous’ – man up, stand proud of your convictions and tell us all your name. Failing that…. get the fuck off my blog and leave my daughter and the things she enjoys out of it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

