RSS Feed

Manc Times & Rainy Day Entertainment (& tits like naan breads)

Posted on

 

Went to Manc on Tuesday for quality window shopping times without the Childerbeast or Bman.  I amused myself by going into a certain large music shop on Deansgate from which I was fired by the Accounts Office in 1998.  I didn’t recognise anyone but they looked to be dopplegangers of the waistcoat/bowtie wearing foppish looking types that worked there when I did.

 I then went to meet my Bro at Castlefields for a beer and mistook him for a proper Mancunian scally when he did arrive, sloping across the bouncy bridge in full anorakish jacket, hat and scarf.  “Sound mate, sound as a pound”.

 Later we met my sis & JC and M&D for a meal at Albert’s Shed & then they went off to a gig and I got a cab to Victoria Station half an hour too early (cheers Pops for your lack of faith in the traffic issues on Deansgate at 9pm on a freezing cold Tuesday night).  I had my own issues with cab as I kept hearing a strange knocking from the boot. Perhaps the last passenger who hadn’t paid and was now trussed up in the boot awaiting certain torture and death? Or a previous lone female daring to travel unchaperoned and now being punished for her feminist crimes. 

   Fortunately I exited the taxi unscathed or kidnapped and resigned myself to spending the next 30 minutes sat on the platform with drunken bums and goth teenagers, only to be advised with minutes to spare that the train was delayed by a further 10 minutes.  Joy of joys!

 

Read my book on the train and earwigged on conversations.  My favourite by far being the one about someone who “has got a face like a naan bread” which reminded me of an ex housemate of mine who once relished a story of a holiday romance his brother had in Ibiza with “a bird who had tits like naan breads” – an image which has stuck in my head for years as I was never entirely sure whether this was good thing or a bad thing.

 

Ma B is here now and we are shortly going out to the Imax to watch Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (again) and if that makes us a bunch of sad brainless morons, as one of my commenters proclaimed not too long ago then so be it.

 

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

