RSS Feed

Breaking Dawn Review (or how to make being a wolf uncool in one scene)

Posted on

So. ‘Breaking Dawn Part 1’ AKA Innerspace versus He Man with guest appearance by Optimus Prime.

If you’ve seen it you will know exactly what I mean.

Cheese touch anyone?

Telepathic wolf conversation scene? Christ! I was half expecting one of them to say the line; “By the Power of Greyskull!”

My sister and I turned to each other at almost exactly the same moment and cracked up laughing.

Like a 15 certificate rating version of one of those Space/Snow/Christmas Buddies films with talking Labrador puppies that the childerbeast enjoy so much.

 

I think one of us is in the wrong movie

 

Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed these books, with the same kind of guilty pleasure that made me also enjoy The Da Vinci Code, so I kind of HAD to see the movies too, but there are so many flaws I can’t even begin…

Forget strings of garlic, crucifixes and death by sunlight or turning into bats and all the things we hold so dear about traditional Vampire lore. What I want to know is (a) when Edward suddenly is able to ‘hear’ the foetus inside Bella, why does this baby not correct him in referring to it as a ‘he’. “Hey Dad dude… I’m a girl yeah!” Then (b) At no point in this telepathic communiqué does this child say; Renesmee? Seriously? Are you fucking shitting me? and most importantly of all (c) Snaps to Jacob ripping off his shirt within the first opening 10 seconds of the movie but “Hello? Shirt & Daks ON for the rest of the 2hrs 25 minutes!!   I demand a refund!”  (d)  I wish we’d gone wearing wolf pelts, or at the very least, shirtless.  Just for the comedy value.

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

