RSS Feed

Forty (almost) & flabulous darling….

Posted on

TV Quote of the Day:        “Hello death, Hello oblivion” – Absolutely Fabulous – ‘Birthday’ 

Way back on this very day in 1992, the episode of ‘Absolutely Fabulous’ titled ‘Birthday’ came out.  I watched it of course, and have to say that my own 40th birthday seemed rather a long way off.  Yet here we are.  It looms ahead in 4 days time. 

AbFab-Birthday Episode

Back then, I was eagerly anticipating my 21st. A drug fuelled rave-off above a bus station in downtown Stroke on Trent with 2000 of my closest friends – many of whom I couldn’t have picked out of a police line-up if they hadn’t been wearing the same bobble hat & dungaree/cut-off jeans ensemble that they wore every Friday night like a  uniform.

Happy days!

Not so happy the following night though when my skin turned blue and my kidneys began to fail.  Not quite so ‘ecstatic’ then eh?

From roughly around that era.   Taken in the back of a removal van at around 4am.  I’m the one in the shades.
 
JUST SAY NO KIDS!
 

 

Who’d have thought back then that in 2011 I’d be getting staggeringly underpaid for teaching 11 year olds about graffiti; John Lennon; how to express remainders as a quotient and choreographing dance routines to Pink Floyd covers.   Strange times!

Never thought for a second either that I’d be married to a boy I went to junior school with, & deliberately embarrassing our offspring by dressing up as an elf and dancing in front of them and all their friends at their school like I did on Friday, but hey ho, you never can tell what the future will bring.

 

Broke up yesterday so have celebrated by getting shitfaced last night at my mate’s and spending today loafing around on the sofa eating chocolate coins & watching garbage in TV with the childerbeast & the MiL.

Merry Christmas. Xx

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

