RSS Feed

I’m not still stuck in the Anderson… I’ve just been double busy.

Posted on

25th of February? WTF? Where have I been? 

Can’t even blame Asteroid DA2012 because it wasn’t even visible from Earth in the end (unlike that one no-one warned us about that crash landed in the Russian Urals the day before!)

>>Edwin Bergin, a professor of astronomy at the University of Michigan, explained further why the Russian meteor was not detected by radar in an email to the Huffington Post.

“Objects such as this one,” Bergin wrote, “are difficult to detect with our current telescopes, which are geared to find objects of sizes 50-100 meters and larger. In general the larger objects, of km-size, are much easier to detect. Given the km-sized bodies’ potential for greater devastation (think the extinction of dinosaurs), we certainly are attempting to detect objects that might impact the Earth. However, the effort is by no means complete. To do it right we need full Earth coverage for our telescopes and right now that is not the case.

Might I suggest that you get yourself on the case with the bigger, more effective telescope then my friend, before we have another Tunguska!

 

I can however blame my absence on half term and the fact that my husband has signed the childerbeast up to Minecraft and now they’re all addicted to it. 
     Minecraft, for the blissfully unaware of you, is a proper spods game on the PC where you spend days on end digging for shit.  Not actual shit but shit nonetheless. 
I swear it gets more like The Big Bang Theory round our house by the day with the geekishness. I’m not sure which of us is who, but I think I see myself as a Leonard.

untitled

Anyway, I digress.

So, since my last post it has been my youngest childerbeast’s 8th birthday.  She got a contact juggling staff, Little Mix paraphernalia of varying degrees of crapness and another Sea Monkey growing set, which was fortunate as we had a slight catastrophe Sea Monkeywise. 
     I say
‘slight’ and I say ‘we’.  I actually mean, disastrous mass death of a Final Destination for Brine Shrimp situation. 

Whilst  attempting to retrieve the body of a dead one from the tank, I inadvertently knocked the whole tank over into the washing up bowl!
      Hot water and lots of fairy liquid does not make for cleaner Sea Monkeys.  It makes for very dead sea monkeys and a traumatized unforgiving daughter.

😦

She also got a set of Triops to grow from eggs.  Triops not Triads, as Bman keeps calling them.  Although a tank of tiny swimming Chinese dudes wielding miniscule machetes would be totally awesome!

 

Am not suggestiong for a minute that these dudes are Triads but this was possibly THE best pic that came up on Google when I typed in Triad pics.

Am not suggestiong for a minute that these dudes are Triads but this was possibly THE best pic that came up on Google when I typed in Triad pics.

We have also been to the Warner Brothers Studio Harry Potter Tour.  Also most awesome.  Almost as awesome as a tank of tiny swimming Chinese dudes wielding miniscule machetes in fact.

I only rode a god damn broom people!  Oh yeah!

Expecto Patronum Motherfucker! (which is exactly how Bruce Willis would say it)

Expecto Patronum Motherfucker! (which is exactly how Bruce Willis would say it)

 142

Double lively to get the train home

Double lively to get the train home

Gryffindor baby!

Gryffindor baby!

I almost wept a couple of times with sheer joy and nerdish enthusiasm.  a bit like the time my sister and I went to see Kylie Minogue’s stage costume collection and almost peed with excitement at the tiny shoes and the feathers and the fact that Kylie had worn those actual clothes.  (Before you ask, the gold hotpants were in a glass frame to protect them from fondleage – don’t try to deny that you wouldn’t have tried to touch them – you know you would!)

🙂

Buttocks AND sideboob - it'sa winning combo!

Buttocks AND sideboob – it’s a winning combo!

 

 

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

