RSS Feed

Run Forrest Run

Posted on

run sweety

Happy Birthday to her Majesty today. 

I wonder if she was watching the Marathon from her bedroom window, in a corgi patterned onesie, smoking a fag with a large gin in hand?

Nice thought.

🙂

Gin o Clock?

Gin o Clock?

Three ladies I know, are running in London today!   Crazy bitches! 

Fair play to them though.

This year I beat my own personal best and managed to watch it for a full 5 hours straight before I was forced to switch off so the childerbeast could get their daily fix of the Xbox.

I wasn’t just laid there on the couch eating cake and loafing for the duration (ok,  for some of it I was eating cake – I won’t lie to you.)  I ironed aswell though, (& No Bman I was not eating cake whilst ironing).  I even jogged along on the old Lateral Thigh Trainer (yes, it’s that time of year to drag that badboy out of the shed again).  I also cannot tell a lie… I did not jog along for very long.  It’s been a while!

I showed support by tweeting in and texting the BBC.  Disappointing then that despite seeing the same tweet about “Mum get the tea on, I’m almost finished” at least 5 times and a text ironically celebrating someone running in aid of Alzheimer’s at least 6 times (they maybe forget they’d already sent it).  My messages of support were not scrolled along the foot of the screen while Colin Jackson interviewed people in various fancy dress costumes.  Gutted!
Do people hire the costumes or buy them do you think?  Surely if they’re hired they must have to pay some kind of heavy-duty dry cleaning waiver.  On a day like today they’ll be sweating like a paedophile at a Wacky Warehouse.  Christ! I had a sweat-on just watching the animated route being mapped out before it even started!

It was very inspiring as ever though, particularly the capacity crowd that turned out to watch.  A massive Screw You to the Boston marathon bombers and their ilk.  I am sure it was a great help for everyone running to have that much support. 

I can’t say that it inspired me that much that I’d like to take part.  Not unless I could scare up a team to do it 1960’s/70’s style with the old Bed Push.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  I mourn the demise of the charity bed push.  Bring it back I say!

As long as I was the one being pushed atop the bed of course.

🙂

1960sBedPush

Pic from google image

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

2 responses »

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?

    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

