RSS Feed

Early onset decrepitude

Posted on

To coincide with my No. 1 baby girl starting high school and my No. 2 girl going into Year 5, thus making me feel old – I also seem to be sliding towards death at a rate of knots. 

I began the working week and new academic year full of cold but no sooner had that worn off than I managed to incapacitate myself.
   I was teaching a new Wake & Shake dance routine to Year 6 yesterday when I felt something twang in my calf as I demonstrated the old Kinetic two-step. Since then I’ve been lurching around like something from the Walking Dead.

images

Surely this is karma’s way of kicking me in the ass for over-use of the words spaz and spacker in my time.

Luckily I have a tube of ibruprofen gel and some awesome extra strength pain-killers.  These helped me sail merrily through the working day fairly oblivious (apart from the lurching gait) without too much concern over the potential possible permanent ligament damage I may have caused myself.

I’ll be spending the weekend propped up on the couch or in bed trying to heal before Monday.

#nospringchicken

Meanwhile, my baby girl survived her first week at high school (and so did I).  I’m sure that before I know it she’ll be coming home with dyed hair, stinking of cigs and telling me she’s got a boyfriend.

😦

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

