RSS Feed

Old Skool Old Fool

Posted on

Tonight I should have been re-living a misspent youth freezing my bits off in the car park of Wilko and Home Bargain in Stoke on Trent.

   “Sandra! Sandra!  Don’t cash up yet. We’ve got a last minute rush on. Have you seen the car park filling up?”

Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances beyond my control, I find myself instead, 60 odd miles in the wrong direction, watching ‘The Snowman’ & ‘The Polar Express’ with my Mum, my kids & my nieces.

I’ve been treated to a jerky dance-off & dodgy DJ-ing from my young nieces while we all wore silly hats, so it’s almost like I was there… Just not quite.

Perhaps this is karma or destiny (or the goddess of common sense) telling me that those days are long gone & that I should just cave in to a life of Saturday nights watching Casualty and eating Doritos.

Glad I didn’t buy anything new to wear or scour the internet for a pair of suitably retro Adidas trainers now.

Just to torment myself further, I have been watching live streaming of the event. Thus far, not heard anybody utter the magic words,
“Where’s that bird with the pigtails & the heart shaped sunnies from the Chester posse? I thought she was coming?”

Probably not gonna happen TBH. Just to pee me off even more.

😦

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

