RSS Feed

That was the week that was (bit crap really despite the weather being sunny)

Posted on

This time last week we were still at the Alton Towers resort. 

It hasn’t been open since Tuesday. 

What’s that phrase?  ‘There but for the grace of god go I’.  After raving about The Smiler & my eldest buying herself a Smiler T-Shirt & Bag, that particular ride looks set to not reopen for some time!  I do hope whatever problem caused the accident gets sorted soon and I hope they don’t scrap it completely.  It is awesome!  Feel bad for those most seriously injured though.  Fun day out turned utterly rotten and all that.

😦

I was only thinking last weekend how in younger days I would have had butterflies and been a bag of nerves about going on big rides.  As I flew round on the Big Six and didn’t hold on as we plummeted down the Oblivion, I felt no fear, not even any real excitement. It was fun, don’t get me wrong.  I just seemed to have lost the ability to really FEEL. When did that happen?
I don’t think I can really remember the last time I got really excited or thrilled about anything. Like you did as a kid when you felt it in your belly and your chest. I’m just a shell of a woman these days drifting through life in a daze.

Seemingly though, I am ‘awful’ and have ‘no maternal instincts’ if the Facebook comments of the natives are to be believed. 

Everyone’s entitled to their own opinion. 
    I did spend a few hours questioning my mothering skills and admitting that I had done and said awful things in my time. Then I thought about all the good things I have done and said, which far outweighed the bad and decided not to beat myself up anymore.  Why care about what someone who means nothing to you thinks of you?  No point.

This week Bman has been at his mother’s, doing odd jobs and clearing out her cellar.  He’s due back shortly.  No doubt  with a hunchback from stooping and a rant or two up his sleeve about his week.

Had the bed all to myself all week. Will have to share it again now with a snory man.

😀

 

 

 

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

