RSS Feed

Maisie Russell’s Wart

Posted on

Dr Buck Melanoma seemed to think my moles were benign on my visit on Tuesday.  Made an appointment for March for a second look.  Although I did get a letter today saying I had an appointment at the minor surgery clinic on 2nd Feb with lots of guff about post-removal aftercare. So am I having them removed or not?  Have rung them today to get them to check what’s happening.

I could have lived in that surgery in Bingley though.  I arrived (after getting lost as per) rather early.  I was invited, by a most hospitable receptionist, to partake of the café upstairs while I waited.

I bloody did!

Café?

Upstairs?

🙂

What no germ filled, fly blown, shit magazine waiting room? No crabby, dragon-breathed Nazi receptionist demanding loudly to know your every ailment?

No.

Instead – sunshiny (even in January), book-stocked café run by super friendly lady who even put love-hearts in chocolate on the cappuccino.  I enjoyed a toasted teacake, read my book and people-watched as the cafe manager trained the oldest Barista in town.  “Cappuccino is basically just froth”.  “Latte is basically just milk and Americano is a black coffee.”  “Job’s a good ‘un”.

🙂

I watched, amused, as an elderly man chatted up an elderly lady with his tales of learning to play the cornet in the local church brass band –  she seemed most receptive to his advances.  Good for them.

Then a lovely friendly greeting when I went back into the surgery – “Welcome back.  How was your coffee?” etc.  I watched as they booked a taxi for an elderly patient and then walked her outside to ensure she got off alright.  My GP surgery could learn a thing or two.

Xx

 

About TheDHW

Not loathed by totally everyone so that's good right?

Leave a Reply

